top of page

God Bless Gary

I want to tell you about a true hero and absolute living legend, Gary!

Gary is a friend of mine dating back to the “dark ages” (A.K.A: Senior School). Gary and I first met on the school bus, the same bus that Lawrence (my long-term partner) and I met on, route C304a! Upon meeting Gary, I informed him that his original name was incorrect and from now on I would only refer to him as Gary. Gary has been known as such by me and various others for the past 6-7 years.

This as a little blog post dedicated to Gary.

Gary is a complex individual who never ceases to amaze, intrigue and occasionally scare me! He has often rescued me from both physical and mental peril. He’s pulled me away from buses and out of bed! He does so much for me (And everyone else in the flat!). So much so, there is a running joke in our house that Gary is our butler – or even Cinderella! He’s always over, basically acting as my unpaid carer, I must get out of bed and tidy at least a little – ‘cause Gary’s coming over – and when he’s over he helps and motivates me to complete basic tasks, all I do is direct and feed him!

Gary is my househusband with out the perks! And we all love him. When it snowed my partner was stuck in a near by city and, without Gary’s perfectly time snow breaks (5-30 minutes in the snow just passing time) and his ability to stomach chick-flicks, I would have gone certified insane. Gary is not the handyman type, but he doesn’t half give it a try! Gary is a long-suffering and surprisingly patient friend. If I ever have a full-time carer, my first choice is Gary.

Gary is an odd little saint, wrapped in sass and wit and fueled by tea and worry. In College (secondary school – we have a weird system!) Gary and I were bus mates and most of our friendship was just me consoling his exes! After School we mostly lost contact until it was discovered that Gary lived a short walk away… Now he’s practically a resident of Flat 2!

So, to Gary, we couldn’t function without you, you are the man, the myth, the legend: The artist formerly known as Stuart…! Thanks for being you Gary and God bless you for putting up with us!!


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page