top of page

A sleepless poem

So I wrote a poem about my restless brain last night and then recorded/edited it this morning. It took a lot of recording/editting before the poem was fluid. I hope you enjoy it! 

The link to me reading it and the transcript are below

A Sleepless Poem 

1.54 am is approximately the time,

when I choose to expell my fears in rhyme.

Whilst plagued by thoughts so low and deep,

I am afraid to go to sleep.

The lights are on, people are home.

With friends in your head, you're never alone.

I sit with poise, declared graceful by none, 

Dreaming of the dappled rays of sun,

That earlier had pierced my mind, 

When savage thoughts where far behind.

The pipes are all whispering as the house is asleep, 

And through cracks in the curtains, darkness can creep.

The refrigerator hums and sings it's slow song,

My brain gives me a list of everything that could possibly go wrong.

A half written to do list and past boys with bad breath,

 suicide, grape juice and gradual death.

The mentionable ones could be thought as as funny, 

Like I wonder if bees know we like honey? 

I wonder if they know why an odd looking bloke,

Every once in a while likes to gas them with smoke? 

If all of my thoughts were like this, I'd sleep like a baby,

But some of them make me feel certified crazy.

I would write them down, but I can't even say them,

Some make me obsess, I have to obey them.

When you don't trust your brain and you side-step each feeling,

Being alone can seem quite appealling,

But I must face the unfortunate fact, 

That with a head like mine I'll never have that! 


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page