top of page

O.C.Dangerous

O.C.D makes you​r brain work in funny ways, sometimes days feel fuzzy, today is one of those days. I want to share with you a little thing I do to help make sense of those day.

All though this strategy helps me, it is born out off an O.C.D tendency, one of the common mental health issues that come hand in had with Tourettes.

O.C.D is an old, affectionate friend of mine. I am fortunate that my O.C.D doesn't tend to effect every day tasks , in fact you could call my O.D.C a collection of quirks, but at one point that wasn't so.

Like so many others, I have suffered at the hands of mental illness. I have developed strategies that help me to process the things I find hard. The problem with O.C.D is that it takes over. I can become obsessive easily. Something that starts as a hobby or a release can become a zealous ritual. I can become fixated on creating exactly what I want and sometimes one of these strategies can take me 2/3 hours simply because I can't get the shadow on the heading right. Days when O.C.D takes over are hard work. It's an unwinnable battle between the rational and the irrational. I feel grumpy. I stress over what would appear to anyone else as a small problem or mild inconvenience. Days when O.C.D is winning are days when incorrect shadows are the end of the world.

But these are not every day, I'm not sure I have good days and bad days as much as just 'days'. This little strategy helps me to evaluate days that are not predominately good or bad and reassures me that good happens every day.

perhaps you might find it helpful on your fuzzy days?


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page